top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

The Extraordinary Deaths of Mrs. Kip


A throwaway assignment is about to change two lives forever


Aidyn Kelley is talented, ambitious, and ready for a more serious assignment than the fluff pieces she's been getting as a cub reporter for the Kansas City Star. In her eagerness, she pushes too hard, earning herself the menial task of writing an obituary for an unremarkable woman who's just entered hospice care.


But there's more to Clara Kip than meets the eye. The spirited septuagenarian may be dying, but she's not quite ready to cash it in yet. Never one to shy away from an assignment herself, she can see that God brought the young reporter into her life for a reason. And if it's a story Aidyn Kelley wants, that's just what Mrs. Kip will give her--but she's going to have to work for it.


REVIEW

This novel was not what it seemed. it was more. The title intrigued me, of course, but the story took me to another time and place. It took me into the life of an unassuming woman who lived an extraordinary life. I loved the inclusion of the young journalist who needed to find her voice. These two transformed each other in such a very short time, but it was beautiful, natural, and realistic.


This book was filled with emotion and growth and the way the story was revealed kept me hooked on the story and turning the page. I read of places I haven't seen but felt as if I were there. What was clear through this book was the impact that one person can make. While this is fiction, it was based on facts and brought to light a place in history I hadn't known before.


This book touched me to the core. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.


I received an early copy through the publisher and Netgalley and this is my honest review.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When Tomorrow Came

To Read my review of When tomorrow Came - Please Visit https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/2023/03/when-tomorrow-came.html

Changing locations

Due to being unable to support the costs of further uploading pictures to this blog, I am having to relocate. my blog will now be found at https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/ I will provide direc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page