top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

Summerhaven Book Tour and Giveaway


Hannah Kent and Oliver Jennings pledged their hearts to each other as children. Now, years later, Hannah is thrilled to receive an invitation to spend the summer at Oliver’s family’s country estate. The path to wedded bliss is clear—so long as Oliver’s highbrow older brother, Damon, has ceased his juvenile antics, Hannah’s future looks bright indeed.


But from the moment Hannah arrives at Summerhaven, nothing is as she expected. Oliver seems disinterested in renewing their acquaintance, and Damon is not the brutish boy she remembers but a man intent on avoiding marriage. Although she has loathed Damon her whole life, when he contrives a ruse designed to win them both what they desire, Hannah warily agrees. All she has to do to reclaim Oliver’s attention is pretend to be madly in love with Damon. But when Damon is surprisingly convincing in his role as a suitor, it proves difficult to discern the line between pretense and true love.

EXCERPT


Damon stepped forward, and his watch key and seal—visible reminders of his status and self-importance—clanked together. He bowed. “Miss Kent.”

“My lord,” I returned with a shallow curtsy.

The corners of his mouth curled into a smile. “I see someone has managed to make a lady out of the wild girl I once knew,” Damon said, and before stepping back in line with his mother, he met my eye and added, “A pity.”

My eyebrows pulled together in surprise.

“Do try not to scowl, Miss Kent. It will crease your lovely brow.”

“Damon Jennings,” Lady Winfield scolded. “You have been taught better manners.”

“My apologies, Mother. Teasing a beautiful woman is one of few things that has yet to be lectured out of me.”


I gaped. Never in all my life had a man spoken so casually to me. Damon may have grown into a man, but he was not a gentleman.


REVIEW


Hannah had it all planned out, she was going to marry Oliver. What she didn't plan on was his brother, Damon. This story was just so good. This is a cozy, curl up in a blanket with cocoa feel good romance. Hannah decides to take Damon on his offer to pretend they're courting just to make Oliver jealous. You know what they say about the best laid plans.


I love Hannah's journey as she discovers who she is and expands her heart to make room where she didn't realize that there was room. I love how she sees both Damon and Ollie with fresh eyes and she can see who was looking out for her even as children.


Damon is amazingly written. He is guarded and you don't quite see him until much much later, but I think I fell for him right alongside Hannah.


I was thrilled with the characters and story in this first Regency offering from Tiffany Odekirk and can't wait to see the stories of some of the side characters so I hope there is more to come.


I received an early copy through the publisher on NetGalley and this is my honest review.


GIVEAWAY



21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

When Tomorrow Came

To Read my review of When tomorrow Came - Please Visit https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/2023/03/when-tomorrow-came.html

Changing locations

Due to being unable to support the costs of further uploading pictures to this blog, I am having to relocate. my blog will now be found at https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/ I will provide direc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page