top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

Something Different - A Gilded Lady



First off, isn't this cover gorgeous. I don't think I read the description before reading the book so this wasn't what I expected. It was better.


Book Description

Caroline Delacroix is at the pinnacle of Washington high society in her role as secretary to the first lady of the United States. But beneath the faade of her beauty, glamorous wardrobe, and dazzling personality, she's hiding a terrible secret. If she cannot untangle a web of foreign espionage, her brother will face execution for treason.


Nathaniel Trask is the newly appointed head of the president's Secret Service team. He is immediately suspicious of Caroline despite his overwhelming attraction to her quick wit and undeniable charm. Desperate to keep the president protected, Nathaniel must battle to keep his focus fully on his job as the threat to the president rises.


Amid the glamorous pageantry of Gilded Age Washington, DC, Caroline and Nathaniel will face adventure, danger, and heartbreak in a race against time that will span the continent and the depth of human emotion.


My Review

I wasn't sure what I was getting into when I opened this book. I just know that I am glad I selected it from NetGalley where I was given an eARC by the publisher.


I hadn't thought much previously about the McKinley presidency, but this book brought me into the world of the White House at that time. The work put in by the president and first lady's secretaries and the beginnings of the secret service as body guards to the first family.


This story was beautifully written. The romance was organic and realistic. The mystery was plausible. I loved every minute and really couldn't put it down. There was so much good in this book. The faith building, the friendships, the family relationships, it was all uplifting.


I would definitely recommend this book whether or not you are a fan of historical romance.


I will say I have read one or two by Elizabeth Camden Before, but I think that I should probably read a few more.



Available on Amazon

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When Tomorrow Came

To Read my review of When tomorrow Came - Please Visit https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/2023/03/when-tomorrow-came.html

Changing locations

Due to being unable to support the costs of further uploading pictures to this blog, I am having to relocate. my blog will now be found at https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/ I will provide direc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page