top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

Since You've Been Gone - Review



ABOUT


With her vision and his know-how, this thing just might work . . . Leah Williams is back in the quaint town of Heritage, Michigan, and ready to try again to make her business a success. But blank slates are hard to come by, and a piece of her past is waiting for her there. Heir to the Heritage Fruits company, Jonathan Kensington is the guy who not only made Leah's past difficult, but he also seems determined to complicate her present as well. In order to avoid forcing a buyout of Leah's building, Jon will have to strike a compromise. Can the two of them work together? Or will their troubled past set the tone for their future?


MY REVIEW


This was such a good book. It was a fun contemporary with a couple storylines woven in. I loved the small town atmosphere and the messages of grace, forgiveness, and letting people grow up. It is often that we perceive things differently than was intended and this book shows that trait very well.


The stories are organic and growth is something that happens through natural circumstances. Nothing felt forced and it was a heartwarming story with natural conflict and intelligent solutions to problems that people would face every day,


I realize this is a part of a series, but I have not read the previous books and this is a new author to me. I don't feel like I missed any information and it felt very much like a stand alone. The romance is sweet. I think the secondary story appealed to me more than the main storyline to to the nature of one of the character's return to town. I would definitely read more in this series and need to go and find the first two books. I would definitely read any follow up.

I received a copy through the publisher and NetGalley and this is my honest review.



Where to Purchase


Praise for the novels of Tari Faris "Sweet and inspirational."--Publishers Weekly on Until I Met You "A small-town romance, devout characters, and an enjoyably languid pace."--Booklist on You Belong with Me



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Tari Faris is the author of You Belong with Me and Until I Met You. A member of American Christian Fiction Writers and My Book Therapy, she is the projects manager for My Book Therapy, writes for learnhowtowriteanovel.com, and is a 2017 Genesis Award winner. She has an MDiv from Asbury Theological Seminary and lives in the Phoenix, Arizona, area with her husband and their three children. Although she lives in the Southwest now, she lived in a small town in Michigan for 25 years. Learn more at TariFaris.com.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When Tomorrow Came

To Read my review of When tomorrow Came - Please Visit https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/2023/03/when-tomorrow-came.html

Changing locations

Due to being unable to support the costs of further uploading pictures to this blog, I am having to relocate. my blog will now be found at https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/ I will provide direc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page