top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

Never Leave Me by Jody Hedlund



I have been meaning to share this one since it came out. Jody Hedlund has created a fantastic world that includes Christian History and things outside understanding and manages to make them relatable and believable. Time travel is something she has managed to make plausible in this world and it still maintains its integrity as Christian Fiction. I have loved both books in this series and I am excited to share this one now.



About

Facing death takes courage. Facing life takes even more. In the last stages of a genetic disease, Ellen Creighton has decided to live out her remaining days at the estate of her longtime friend Harrison Burlington. Though he's never allowed himself to get serious in a relationship due to his paralysis, Harrison cares deeply for Ellen and is desperately trying to save her life by finding the holy water that is believed to heal any disease--the same substance Ellen suspects is responsible for the deaths of her father and sister. But Harrison is not the only one seeking the holy water. Dangerous criminals are mere steps behind, and Ellen soon learns they will go to any lengths to get the powerful drug--including sending her back into the past to locate it for them. Bestselling and award-winning author Jody Hedlund plunges you into the swiftly flowing river of history in this second breathtaking Waters of Time story.



My Review

What an enthralling story! Having read the previous book, I understood the basis of the premise. However, this brought so much more to the overall story. I loved going back and seeing characters from the previous book. I also loved Ellen and Harrison. Their relationship is so real in all of this, especially given that they had known each other for years.


The premise of this includes some time travel, which I believe is difficult to incorporate into a Christian fiction. What Jody Hedlund does well is to entwine the Christian Fiction message with the magical and time travel elements. This story is well written and a delight. I was able to dive right into this book and had trouble letting go.


The emotions of this story are as real as any I have read. The characters are wonderful and their relationships genuine. I was thrilled to be able to read this story.


I received an eARC through the publisher and NetGalley and this is my honest review.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When Tomorrow Came

To Read my review of When tomorrow Came - Please Visit https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/2023/03/when-tomorrow-came.html

Changing locations

Due to being unable to support the costs of further uploading pictures to this blog, I am having to relocate. my blog will now be found at https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/ I will provide direc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page