top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

Inventing Vivian Blog Tour and Giveaway - Author Interview

Updated: Jun 16, 2021



Book Description


Ladies of London’s High Society are known for their social graces and poise. Vivian Kirby boasts neither of these enviable qualities, though she does offer impressive conversation on chemical compositions. Unfortunately, it appears that not many men want a brilliant wife. So it is that Vivian finds kinship with a group of young women who embrace each other’s differences: The Blue Orchid Society.

After an extended stay in China, Lord Benedict has returned transformed to his family’s estate, where an encounter with Vivian, whose scientific knowledge he once undermined, leaves him determined to make amends. He arranges to help forward her research—anonymously, of course. Through letters, Vivian establishes a warm friendship with her secret benefactor, even as she’s unexpectedly drawn into a murder investigation that forces her to work alongside Benedict to unearth the truth. Soon, Vivian fears she may be falling in love with two men, never suspecting that they are one and the same.



Author Interview


Reading With Emily: What inspired the Blue Orchid Society?


Jennifer Moore: I had finished up a series and was looking for ideas of what to write next. I wanted to write in the Victorian Era, since there are so many more things women could do—like own property and have jobs—so I picked up some books for inspiration, and I found that the women in all of the books were competitors or enemies or just mean for no reason. And this isn’t my experience at all. Women in my life have always been supportive and strong and happy for each other. So, anyway, that’s what gave me the idea of these women forming a little club where they would help each other follow their dreams.


RWE: Who is your favorite character in this book?


JM: Benedict. He is kind of a weird hippie guy. He’s studied martial arts, he’s a vegetarian, and he’s into meditation. He’s a follower of Taoism, so peace and nature and letting life unfold as it happens are important to him. And that’s so out of place among high society that people don’t really know what to do with him


RWE: What inspired you to bring in the Chinese culture? I loved that aspect of things.


JM: I wanted Lord Benedict to have a real reason to be how he is. Not just have it convenient for the plot. So having him spend the last few years studying Taoism in China worked really well to give him some motivation and develop his character.


RWE: How do you balance such strong women with a perfect supportive man in the Victorian era?


JM: That’s a good question. Because not all men would be okay with it—especially in that time period. So, I guess it’s a matter of making the right character. The one who needs just what she has, and who can give her just what she’s missing.


RWE: Which of the Blue Orchid Society do we get to know better next?


JM: Hazel Thornton. She’s the one attending the Florence Nightingale School of Nursing


RWE: What part of the story was your favorite to write?


JM:I think the beginning. It’s always fun to imagine how they meet and to introduce the new characters.


RWE: I love this cover, Did you have any part in choosing the colors?


JM:I don’t really have any say in the covers, but for this one, they sent me a few options. I thought this dress was the best for the time period, and it had the feel I wanted. Plus the purple dress is just so gorgeous.


RWE: What kind of research did you need to do regarding Vivian’s inventions?


JM: So much. I had no idea how a steam engine worked or a fountain or hydraulics or any of that. I read lots of books and consulted some handy builder people as well as some scientist people, just to make sure it sounded like I knew what I was talking about.


RWE: What is a fun tidbit to keep us going now that this one is out in the world?


JM: Well, let’s see…Here’s a thing. I’m really hoping to get the green light to write a few novellas set in this world. Some of the secondary characters really need their stories told, don’t you think?


RWE:What inspired you to feature her cousin so heavily? He was such a bright spot.


JM: Oh, I don’t know. Maybe because I have boys? Kids are such a huge part of my life. So it’s weird to me when I read a book that’s just about adults. Like don’t they have nieces and nephews or neighbors or anything? Kids are also fun characters, because they just say random things. They ask questions that polite people would never ask. And so that’s a good way to get information to the reader organically.


My Review


I love Vivian. She is such a delight. She has a brain and isn’t afraid to use it. Benedict is disillusioned by his title and the title he is to inherit.


The two of them are perfect together.


Vivian and her friends in the Blue Orchid Society are miraculous. They support each other even when they aren’t interested in something that their friend is. This is such a supportive group of women. They are the definition of friend goals. I love this in the setting of Victorian Society as advancements in technology that were happening at the time. This is a perfect setting for Vivian to expand her mind. Her family’s support is essential even if she doesn’t present well amongst the ton.


Jennifer Moore’s writing is beautiful and this story, like Vivian is a complete delight.


I received an early copy of this book from the publisher and this is my honest review.



 



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page