top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

Eye For an Eye Blog Tour and Giveaway


Book Description

After a family tragedy nearly destroyed Mallory Ingram, she's fighting to get her life on track. When her sister and brother-in-law open their home to her, Mallory is certain that moving across the country will allow her to focus on a hopeful future. That future looks even more promising when her enrollment at a local university connects her with the charming Darien Thomas.


However, when illegal drugs turn up at her sister's house, the first person accused is Mallory, and suddenly, she doesn't know who to trust. Mounting evidence of Mallory's guilt is straining the tenuous bond she has just begun to develop with her sister after years of living separately. Desperate to prove her innocence and keep the harmful patterns of the past from hijacking her future, Mallory reaches for Darien's help to discover the truth.


But the truth may be more dangerous than any of them imagine.


My Review

I was surprised how quickly I flew through this one. What a great short little Romantic Suspense. I had just started and the next thing I knew it was done. I am glad for the logic showed by Darien, he saved Mallory from her sister and her husband from suspicions that proved false. This is perfect for a lunchtime read or a quick read after the kids go to bed.


The tension between Mallory and her sister was palpable. There was a time I wasn’t sure who to trust. The twists just kept coming. There was so much action in this novella, I couldn’t put it down.


Stephanie Black is a wizard with suspense and knows just how to keep a reader interested. I am looking forward to this release.


I received an early copy via NetGalley and this is my honest review.


Give Away

About the Author

I’ve enjoyed making up stories since I was a child, when my sisters and I would play long Barbie games full of intrigue and danger, or write and direct plays for ourselves and our younger siblings. I took a creative writing class in high school, but my stories stunk, since I hadn’t yet figured out that a story needs a plot. An encouraging comment from the teacher got me rolling in the right direction (thank you, Mrs. Owen!) and my final story for that class eventually developed--after many years, much studying of fictional technique, and countless hours of writing and rewriting--into my first published novel. The Believer, a dystopian thriller, was published in 2005 by Covenant Communications.


Four of my contemporary mysteries are Whitney Award winners for Best Mystery/Suspense Novel, and my second dystopian novel was a Whitney Award Finalist for Best Speculative Novel. My novella “An Eye for an Eye” is part of the RONE Award-winning anthology Timeless Romance: Autumn Suspense Collection and the winner of the suspense category in the 2019 StoryCatchers Contest. My husband Brian and I have five children, three children-in-law, and a rather majestic cat. I love spending time with my family, enjoy homemade pizza, anything chocolate, and taking pictures of wildflowers. I play the violin in a community symphony (but never practice enough), and always have unmatched socks, post-laundry. At the center of everything that matters most in my life is my love for the gospel of Jesus Christ.

From Author bio on her website

Available for Purchase

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When Tomorrow Came

To Read my review of When tomorrow Came - Please Visit https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/2023/03/when-tomorrow-came.html

Changing locations

Due to being unable to support the costs of further uploading pictures to this blog, I am having to relocate. my blog will now be found at https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/ I will provide direc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page