top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

Every Word Unsaid - Blog Tour



QUICK FACTS

Title: Every Word Unsaid: A Novel

Author: Kimberly Duffy

Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense, Inspirational Fiction

Publisher: Bethany House (November 2, 2021)

Length: (368) pages

Format: Trade paperback, eBook, & audiobook

Tour Dates: November 1-14, 2021


Augusta Travers has spent the last three years avoiding the stifling expectations of New York society and her family's constant disappointment. As the nation's most fearless--and reviled--columnist, Gussie travels the country with her Kodak camera and spins stories for women unable to leave hearth and home. But when her adventurous nature lands her in the middle of a scandal at the worst possible moment, she's forced to leave America entirely.


Arriving in India, she expects only a nice visit with childhood friends, siblings Catherine and Gabriel, and adventures that will further her career. Instead, she finds herself facing a plague epidemic, confusion over Gabriel's sudden appeal, and the realization that what she wants from life is changing.


As she grows closer to friends, old and new, and allows their words of truth to heal parched places, she pictures a new future. But when the fallout of her past decisions finds her in India, will it ruin her chance to finally stop running?


REVIEW

Gussie is an adventure. I love the side of her that is Miss Adventuress and I love the side of her that discovers the rest of her. I love Specks and Catherine and of course Uncle James. I feel for Gussie in her family. In books I often see the misunderstood girl who doesn't quite fit, but she is very much still loved which is the important factor. Based on her impressions, that is not what I get from her family, which adds a different dynamic to this story.

I love the author's imagery of India. The writing was beautiful even if the plague was not. The native characters brought perspective and understanding to an outsider. It was truly like I was there with them.


While there is an element of love, I hesitate to say romance, but there is definitely a good build on the relationship, this story is mostly about Gussie finding who she is and what she wants to become. There is the element of faith and growth in that. I can't say enough about how I loved this story.


The beauty of this story is timeless and I loved every minute.


I was given an early copy through the publisher and NetGalley and this is my honest review.


PURCHASE LINKS



AUTHOR BIO


Kimberly Duffy is Long Island native currently living in Southwest Ohio, via six months in India. When she's not homeschooling her four kids, she writes historical fiction that takes her readers back in time and across oceans. She loves trips that require a passport, recipe books, and practicing kissing scenes with her husband of twenty years. He doesn't mind.




25 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

When Tomorrow Came

To Read my review of When tomorrow Came - Please Visit https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/2023/03/when-tomorrow-came.html

Changing locations

Due to being unable to support the costs of further uploading pictures to this blog, I am having to relocate. my blog will now be found at https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/ I will provide direc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page