top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

Anything but Plain - Revell Reads Blog Review



ABOUT


Leaving Stoney Ridge feels unbearable--but how can she stay? Impulsive Lydie Stoltzfus has always felt like a disappointment--a square peg in a round hole in her quiet Amish community. Leaving her family and church seems like her best move, even though it would mean leaving Nathan Yoder behind. Nathan claims he's in love with her, but she knows she's not good enough for him. And if she is ever in doubt, Nathan's father reminds her frequently. Knowing Lydie is "between" jobs again, the local doctor asks her to fill in at the front desk for a few months. This gives Lydie time to figure out how she's going to say goodbye to Nathan--and it gives Dok ample time to recognize the symptoms of a disorder rare among the Amish. She offers Lydie treatment that has the potential to change her life. But will it be enough to make her stay? Or has help come too late?


MY REVIEW


Oh Lydie, I felt everything for you, It is so hard when she doesn't feel like she fits. I loved the way that she was depicted in this Amish community. She tries so hard and finds that it doesn't help.


The fact that this book looks at ADHD in the world of the Amish is illuminating. I was in awe as i read this. I work with people with disabilities and have a son with ADHD. This is a topic that is dear to me and something that I felt was treated respectfully and beautifully done.


Her relationships with her family, with the community, and in her employment showed that it is possible to find a way to help someone with ADHD find where they fit. The author did a beautiful job showing the challenges in the Amish community and with their neighbors, but still showing love, faith, and healing.


I would recommend this book to those that love to read Amish fiction or for those that want to understand more about how someone with ADHD feels and thinks.


I received an early copy through the publisher and NetGalley and this is my honest review.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When Tomorrow Came

To Read my review of When tomorrow Came - Please Visit https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/2023/03/when-tomorrow-came.html

Changing locations

Due to being unable to support the costs of further uploading pictures to this blog, I am having to relocate. my blog will now be found at https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/ I will provide direc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page