top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

An Uncommon Earl, Giveaway included!

Dear readers,


I missed on the blog tour last week, but good news, there is still a couple days on the giveaway. It is amazing how life gets away from a person sometimes. I will confess that it was on my mind because I wanted to share this delightful tale, but the thing holding me back? Taking the perfect picture. I was lacking inspiration. I finally have just erred on the side of simplicity.


For my day job, I work to help people with disabilities find jobs. I find myself trying to help people move past what they can't do and what they can. I was so pleased to find our heroine facing some challenges of her own. I loved the representation in this book considering that sometimes that era was not so forgiving of people's differences in capabilities.


Book Description

Alexander Allerton, the Earl of Bloxley’s, greatest desire is to alleviate the suffering of the poor and less fortunate of England. So when his hackney carriage is involved in an accident that results in the death of one of those he is determined to help, he is devastated. Alexander vows to keep the promise he makes to the injured woman as she takes her final breaths: he will not rest until he finds her young son.

After a crippling accident years ago, Jane Hadford is accustomed to being largely ignored at social events. But being overlooked has allowed her to hone her observational skills—and she quickly perceives that all is not well with the handsome Lord Bloxley. When an unexpected opportunity arises to talk to the earl, he surprises them both by sharing with her his fruitless search for the child. Touched by Lord Bloxley’s story and by his desire to make things right, Jane determines to help him fulfill his promise. What she cannot anticipate, however, is that the quest she has chosen to undertake will bring into her life a small boy who will steal her heart and a gentleman who might well do the same.

My Review

Jane and Alexander were a match made in literary heaven. How refreshing to have a heroine with a disability, especially in Georgian England. I love the effort made by authors to show more inclusion. Obviously there will be those who oppose our dear heroine, but what good would a story be without those. Alexander is a hero and a gentleman in every sense of the word. He stands up for those that are less fortunate. I loved the inclusion of the political climate and the state of the worker in England at the time, especially the working child. The fate of the poor orphans was enlightening and eye opening.


The love story starts as an alliance to help find the son of a poor woman who met with an accident and changed into a merging of hearts. The love story rang true and the characters were likeable which is so important. I loved the side characters that added humor and depth. I have long been a fan of Sian Ann Bessey's work and her books only get better. I can't wait for the next Georgian Gentleman book. She has a depth in her characters that adds to the richness of her stories.


I received an early copy and this is my honest review, the thoughts expressed are my own.





20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When Tomorrow Came

To Read my review of When tomorrow Came - Please Visit https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/2023/03/when-tomorrow-came.html

Changing locations

Due to being unable to support the costs of further uploading pictures to this blog, I am having to relocate. my blog will now be found at https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/ I will provide direc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page