top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

A Woman of Words - A quick review



This was such a captivating story. I was left speechless. There was so much about this book that I loved. The author is masterful in her depictions of Jewish and believer life. I found myself reading the author notes so I could know more as well as have a better perspective of what was truth and what was assumed. I am finding more and more that I am loving the Biblical Fiction books, especially as the authors try to stick to the truth as closely as they are able without many sources regarding the individual people.


I don't have enough words to describe just how much I loved this book. It was an amazing journey with the mother of our savior and Matthew, one of the apostles. I love the idea that Mary wanted to write down the stories of Jesus, especially those that only she was privy too. I like to think that this is how we got those stories. It adds for me that the author is a biblical scholar. This story felt so authentic and I know it is a novel.


It was enlightening to me to hear the stories from the mouths of Mary and the Apostles, again, I know it wasn't but it could have been and that made it wonderful.


The spirit of the book was awe inspiring and I found myself moved to tears in a couple of places.


In addition to the Biblical stories in perspective, the other messages in the character stories were love, forgiveness, and change, all enduring themes. This was a fantastic story in which to escape and found myself blessed to read it. It was truly a reminder of the love of God for his children.


I received a copy of the book from the publisher through NetGalley and this is my honest review.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When Tomorrow Came

To Read my review of When tomorrow Came - Please Visit https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/2023/03/when-tomorrow-came.html

Changing locations

Due to being unable to support the costs of further uploading pictures to this blog, I am having to relocate. my blog will now be found at https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/ I will provide direc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page