top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

A Torn Allegiance Blog Tour and Giveaway




First off let me say, I love this cover and the premise of these Royal Regencies. It really adds to the scope, especially when Prinny or his sisters are on the page. While this is fiction, it just adds something. Jen Geigle Johnson does not miss in these stories and this is the second in this series. I have to admit, I am slightly obsessed with Royalty sometimes, it is just a life I can't quite fathom.


The other key I have to share about Jen Geigle Johnson's books is that her heroines are these strong females, often with bluestocking leanings. They are in a place next to these Lords and Princes where they can have sway and influence, even though the time period would have them silent and managing households.


Book Description

Peace is tenuous in the small kingdom of Oldenburg, and the looming threat of invasion from Napoleon weighs heavily on the royal family. Their country's best chance for safety lies in strengthening their alliance with the English. So it is that Prince Hayes Wilhelm finds himself returning to England, where he hopes a prominent duke can help him protect his country.

Lady Elsie longs to make a difference in the world, but spying was not quite what she had in mind. So when her father, the Duke of Shelby, approaches her about keeping a close eye on the visiting crown prince of Oldenburg, she reluctantly agrees. But the outspoken young woman did not anticipate finding in Hayes a man who shares--and respects--her progressive ideas. Their mutual attraction is undeniable, but Elsie cannot forget her charge to spy on the man who is quickly stealing her heart. With the threat of war looming ever closer, Elsie and Hayes must consider carefully whom to trust--before their secrets tear them apart.



My Review

This series just keeps getting better and better. The daughter of a duke instructed by her father to spy on a visiting prince to be sure of alliances. She and her mother hold salons with intellectuals and are known bluestockings. What could be better? A prince who knows quality when he sees it.


Jen Geigle Johnson weaves a captivating tale with strong women, visiting royalty, and intrigue. I love the characters. Elsie is loyal and honest to a fault as there are moments when she wavers in her commitment to spy. There is a place where our heroine is made to feel less than by others in the Ton and she is the daughter of a duke. The way she rises above it without reciprocating the bad treatment left me breathless.


Hayes is everything a crown prince should be which adds to some of the tension, after all, he has to be a diplomat as well.


These characters are real and I love them. I would recommend anything by this author.


I received an advanced ebook from the publisher and this is my honest review


Giveaway




22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When Tomorrow Came

To Read my review of When tomorrow Came - Please Visit https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/2023/03/when-tomorrow-came.html

Changing locations

Due to being unable to support the costs of further uploading pictures to this blog, I am having to relocate. my blog will now be found at https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/ I will provide direc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page