top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Flynn

A Picture of Hope - review


A Photojournalist Risks Her Life to Save a Very Special Child


Full of intrigue, adventure, and romance, this series celebrates the unsung heroes—the heroines of WWII.


Journalist Nellie Wilkerson has spent the bulk of the war in London, photographing mothers standing in milk lines—and she’s bored. She jumps at the chance to go to France, where the Allied forces recently landed. There she enlists Jean-Paul Breslau of the French underground to take her to the frontlines. On the journey, they stumble upon a great tragedy, leaving a girl with special needs being orphaned.


Can Nellie and Jean-Paul see the child to a safe haven while being pursued by the Nazis, who are pressed by the advancing Allies and determined to destroy all they can before they flee?


My Review

I was captivated by this story set in WWII. To include those often overlooked and to make that the main story was close to my heart. A Picture of Hope had amazing emotional range. and left me stunned with its beauty amidst the ugliness of the setting, France at D-Day and beyond. Each character had purpose and added so much to the story. This book was faith building and full of hope, even against the backdrop of war. A woman thirsting for adventure, a man trying to save his homeland, a child taught to hide from the ugliness, a group of nun's determined to save the innocent, I loved it all. It is a rare gem when a story can come out of world war II that I haven't seen or heard some incarnation of. Even if the idea of escape and freedom as the same, the characters made the story. The suspense was well written and well-paced. I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone who appreciates the history of WWII. I received a early copy from the publisher through Netgalley and this is my honest review.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

When Tomorrow Came

To Read my review of When tomorrow Came - Please Visit https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/2023/03/when-tomorrow-came.html

Changing locations

Due to being unable to support the costs of further uploading pictures to this blog, I am having to relocate. my blog will now be found at https://reading-with-emily.blogspot.com/ I will provide direc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
bottom of page